Confessions of an Altoholic

demon hunters, death knights, and druids, oh my!

The Cataclysm Bucket List

A bucket list is a list of stuff you want to do before you kick the bucket.  For most folks, such a list would probably consist of trips they want to take, shenanigans they want to pull (climbing a huge mountain, skydiving even though they’re afraid of heights, etc), estranged family and friends they’d like to make amends with, and so forth.

We, however, are WoW players, and a huge chunk of our beloved Azeroth will be getting rocked.  Inspired by a handful of posts around WoW.com and the WoW Ladies LJ community, I decided to make my very own pre-Cataclysm bucket list – things I want to do before Azeroth as we know it kicks the bucket.

Without further ado, here is Shizukéra’s bucket list, in no particular order:

1.    Frostsaber mount!  I’ve wanted one of these for a long time, partially because it matches my hunter’s pet and partially because I think it is the most beautiful land mount in all of WoW.  Evil rep grind is evil, but that’s what friends are for!  :grabs Taldarion:

2.    Get my death knight (frost tank) to 80.  She’s 74 already, plus I’ve got my own pocket dps in the form of my guildie’s mage, so that’s looking very doable.  Also, Northrend elite mobs hit like little girls.  I’m just sayin’.

3.    Get my tree druid to 80?  Considering I’d like to take a bit of a break from leveling after Serreina hits 80 to get her some gear and complete the Frostsaber grind, this is very likely to not happen.  I’m sure I can get him to at least 70, though, especially since I have the best leveling buddy ever.  :grabs Taldarion again:

4.    Finish the World Explorer achievement.  I know this will be easier in Cataclysm when we can fly in Azeroth, but I want to earn that achievement in the Azeroth Shizu grew up in.

5.    Take screenshots.  Lots and lots of screenshots.  Ashenvale and Azshara especially.  :makes ragey face at Blizzard:  </3

6.    Get this blog really going, with regular updates and whatnot.  Seriously, Shizu, what the heck?  :thwaps self:

7.    Get a Silver Covenant hippogryph.  Considering how diligently I don’t do those quests – seriously, jousting, wtf Tirion – this will take a while.

8.    Get Ambassador and 50 mounts.  I’m currently at 30 mounts, exalted with Stormwind and Darnassus and well into revered with the Exodar, Ironforge, and Gnomeregan.  Those remaining mounts, plus a couple more gryphons or netherdrakes, should get me to 50.

9.    Get Crusader title?  That depends on how much I really want to work on Argent Crusade and Silver Covenant rep, I suppose.  I’m revered with the Argent Crusade – how that happened, I have no idea;  I didn’t think I did that many quests for them before the tournament came in – and Silver Covenant, I’m literally one quest away from revered.  Of course, Crusader Shizukéra would be really cool … :grabs Argent Crusade tabard, eyes instances and weird jousty stuff:

10.    Finish writing Serreina’s introductory story arc.  Also write some stuff dealing with her service in the Scourge;  I have ideas regarding both Acherus and pre-Acherus, at least one of which has the potential to be very creepy.

11.    Integrate Faisaal, Khiraa, and Syliah into my main storyline a bit more tightly.  They have an important place, I just suck at showing it.  :P

So, what’s on your bucket list?

September 15, 2009 - Posted by | Articles, Bucket List, Cataclysm

12 Comments »

  1. Ambassador took me about 3 days of serious questing through all the starting areas, and then a few cloth turnins for Gnomer rep. The Argent Tournament champion dailies can help out considerably with this grind, as they can reward reputation commendations for your home factions instead of money.

    Crusader is easier than it sounds if you already have Ambassador — just do the quests at the Argent Vanguard and the dailies at the Argent Tournament every day until you get it.

    Comment by Cynwise | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah, Gnomer’s going to be the hard one – I’m already collecting champion’s writs to help with that. I do have a bunch of low-level quests I can do though, thanks to the fact that I’m terrible about not finishing zones. =)

      I think I’ve done all the Argent Crusade quests, but I’ll have to check. I might be down to a daily/instance grind, which is okay – dailies are money and I should be running more instances anyway!

      Comment by Shizukera Nightfury | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. I really should work on a frostsaber as well, and possibly a netherdrake for my main. I’ll add those to my list as well.

    I’ll probably do the netherdrake first, as I doubt i’ll us a land mount much after the Cataclysm.

    At risk of pimpin my own blog I wrote up a similar post yesterday, so i’ll link it instead of retyping =)

    http://dechionsplace.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/well-this-should-keep-me-busy/

    Comment by Dechion | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Nothing wrong with a little pimping! ;)

      Netherwing rep isn’t too terrible – I did the whole grind in less than a month, I believe, and I even skipped certain quests that made me grumbly (I’m looking at you, racing quests). I rarely came across other people when I was doing it, so I got almost all the random eggs I came across too. It’s even easier if you team up with someone, then you can really smash through the quests.

      Frostsaber on the other hand … get quest, gather, run back, turn in, get quest again, gather again, turn in again … I think I’ll have to find some really good farming music for that one!

      Comment by Shizukera Nightfury | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. 1. GET RAVASAUR MOUNT FOR EVERY HORDIE I HAVE EVER. This would mean getting my huntard and warlock at least to 60, and getting my orc dk’s butt over there.

    2. While I am in Un’Goro, take as many screenshots as possible. Considering I have a tendency to take a screenshot whenever I see a devilsaur, this one is practically done.

    3. Get Suz and Poe to 80, find them an active Alliance RP guild on WA, or preferably make Shinra an active guild. Poe is 66 and Suz is 73, so this is easy sauce, considering my love of Northrend.

    4. Get Ana geared enough that she will be able to stab Arthas in the butt as soon as we can go and stab Arthas in the butt. Thankfully she’s in a raiding guild that doesn’t RP so I can get away with “hey sexy!” macros. She’s nearly in all purples now, but needs enchanted and gemmed and shit. It looks probable, though. Biggest hindrance is my fear of people.

    5. Get Keir and Mage!Seiz on SC to 80, as well as Adera and DK!Seiz on ER. Transfer Keir over to second account as soon as she hits 55 and make Poe on SC and ER.

    6. Ana needs a black netherdrake. Also every hawkstrider ever.

    7. Get all the little raptor pets on SOMEONE.

    Comment by reanimatrix | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Wow. You have a lot of leveling to do. Let me know if you need any runs or leather gear or lowbie glyphs or anything for your ER crowd; I’ll be happy to help out!

      Also, I’m absolutely *dying* at the mental image of Arthas being stabbed repeatedly in the butt and the “rawr” look on Ana’s face as she performs said stabbing. It’s epic. <3

      *cheers you on* YOU CAN DOO EET!

      Comment by Shizukera Nightfury | September 16, 2009 | Reply

      • Yes, yes I do. X_X Keir is at least 42, but everyone else? 20s and 30s, except the DKs. I will hit you up if I need anything indeed! <3

        Also, I’m absolutely *dying* at the mental image of Arthas being stabbed repeatedly in the butt and the “rawr” look on Ana’s face as she performs said stabbing. It’s epic. <3

        Someday I will have the artistic skill to draw Arpant’s fucking armor and then I will draw this. Also, famous last words: “IS THAT A… GOBLIN?” (cuz Arpants speaks in all caps Copperplate a la Death from Discworld. ::firm nod::) with a goblin riding a fat little nuke towards him and waving a cowboy hat a la Dr. Strangelove. That mental image is solely the BF’s fault.

        As for Ana, I must at LEAST get her full rogue T9, since the Horde version is named after GARONA. GARONA one of the few characters I love as much as Arthas. (The others being the Devilsaurs and the ethereals.)

        Comment by reanimatrix | September 16, 2009

  4. That hippogriff is so, so worth the annoyance though. I just happened to get my Crusader/Ambassador title whilst doing it!

    Comment by Ambrosyne | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • It’s so gorgeous, and if I can take care of my Ambassador/Crusader achievements while I’m at it – go go hippogryph! And I just really love Shizu on a hippogryph, hence the grind for the Cenarion one back at level 70 when it was atrocious to get. Plus, said Cenarion hippogryph needs a sister. *nod*

      I have like … 25 champion’s seals? 125 to go!

      Comment by Shizukera Nightfury | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. I have one thing I want to do on Arrens before Cataclysm hits: Finish that damned Loremaster achievement. Seriously, you wouldn’t think doing 60 more quests would be that hard. But it is. By God, it really, really is.

    Comment by Arrens | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • OMG. Yeah, after doing that many quests, I think you’d really be at that “So close, but SO BLOODY FAR AWAY” stage. Uuurrrrrk!

      Good luck, zombieman!

      Comment by Shizukera Nightfury | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. [...] spent the last few weeks plugging away at a few of the items on my bucket list. I made a lot of progress. In fact, over the last week, I think I managed to knock off about half [...]

    Pingback by Achievement-palooza! « Confessions of an Altoholic | October 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

